Generation III Internal Engine 1997-2006 LS1 | LS6
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Stock Rebuild, Pistons .025 Out of Hole. Why?

Search this Thread

Old 04-07-2011, 06:25 PM
TECH Enthusiast

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Stock Rebuild, Pistons .025 Out of Hole. Why?

Doing first ever LS1 rebuild with stock parts... block was not decked, but after assembling bottom end, the pistons are out of the hole .025. Can anyone tell me why this may be? Wrong bearings??? I'm ultra confused. I tried calling Race Engine Development to see if they might have a little insight, but was not able to reach them so I left a message and thought I'd hop on here to see if anyone else could share a little info.

This is a stock 98 block with 2004 LS6 rods and ls6 pistons (floating setup) and arp 2000 rod bolts. What could possibly make the pistons stick out that far? If anyone can lend a little insight, I'd greatly appreciate it. Excuse my ignorance... I admit I'm a newbie with all of this. At least I was smart enough to measure first right? Thanks, guys.

Brad

Last edited by edwardzracing; 04-07-2011 at 07:29 PM.
Old 04-07-2011, 06:45 PM
10 Second Club

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Originally Posted by edwardzracing
Doing first ever LS1 rebuild with stock parts... block was not decked, but after assembling bottom end, the pistons are out of the .025. Can anyone tell me why this may be? Wrong bearings??? I'm ultra confused. I tried calling Race Engine Development, but was not able to reach them so I left a message.

This is a stock 98 block with 2004 LS6 rods and ls6 pistons (floating setup) and arp 2000 rod bolts. What could possibly make the pistons stick out that far? If anyone can lend a little insight, I'd greatly appreciate it. Excuse my ignorance... I admit I'm a newbie with all of this. At least I was smart enough to measure first right? Thanks, guys.

Brad
did you have the block line bored?
Old 04-07-2011, 07:27 PM
TECH Enthusiast

Originally Posted by JRENIGAR