Generation IV Internal Engine 2005-2014 LS2 | LS3 | LS7 | L92 | LS9

New LS7 Build

Search this Thread

Old 02-05-2012, 11:56 AM
Staging Lane

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New LS7 Build

So I’ve been lurking over here for about a year, learning as much as I can from you guys. Now that my motor is about done, I wanted to post some details and get your feedback. I’m no LS pro by a long shot and still learning as I go.

A little background….me and a few buddies hang out here to figure out how to build strong LS motors to stuff into our retro cars. Mostly used for AutoX and time trials, we attend local track days, SCCA/NMCA and Streetcar events. These events are formerly called ‘Run To The’ (RTTx) events, such as Run to the Hills, Run to the Coast, etc. They are now rebranded as American Street Car Series (americanstreetcarseries.com). Most of us hang out at Protouring.com or Lareral-G.net. For the most part the motors are built not for drag racing 8k top end, but more for fast revving in-n-out of corners torque. My goal was to build a bullet proof (no such thing!) LS7, or at least take out some of the documented weaknesses. I started w a flea-bay motor some knucklehead built wrong. I bought it knowing I would tear it down and rebuild it as strong as possible for the planned abuse. Last thing I wanted was a rod grenading the side of the block or needle bearings falling through the rotating assy under power. I wanted it to breathe good, accelerate quick and rev to 7k on the straights. I didn’t sleeve it, although I did speak to RED Steve and one day I’ll beef up the block a little (meaning the motor will be rebuilt at some point, planned or forced).