Manual Transmission T56 | T5 | MN12 | Clutches | Hydraulics | Shifters

Best clutch????

Search this Thread

Old 04-24-2011, 04:30 PM
TECH Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Best clutch????

Hey guys,

In the market for a new clutch since Im getting a lot of work done to my 04 GOAT this week. Currently making 450 RWHP, and plan on more gains in the future. Whats the best clutch in your opinion? Looking for specifics and why (metal types/ brands/ etc..)

Heres a quote from RAM (Sintered iron provides a degree of slippage on vehicle launch to prevent the violent and uncontrollable engagement characteristics of paddle type metallic discs). Im no expert but this sounds to me like a bad thing, sure its better for the car, but it sounds like this feature would take away from your performance, am I wrong?
Old 04-24-2011, 05:16 PM
10 Second Club

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

It really depends on what you plan to do with the car (drag race, drift, dd etc.) Sintered iron will slip alittle on the launch only. This helps to keep the tires planted. Sintered iron clutches are abit too rough for street use for most people. You may want to look into a twin disc clutch. They're tend to be much more streetable while holding big power then some of these exotic single disc clutches.
Old 04-24-2011, 05:26 PM
TECH Enthusiast

Received 12 Likes on 11 Posts

my next will be a Monster, probably a level 3 or 4.....they have a reputation for being extremely tough, just make sure you buy new ARP flywheel and pressure plate bolts....
Old 04-24-2011, 06:49 PM
TECH Fanatic

monster stage 3 gets my vote,they Fu%&$% GRAB.Make sure your drivetrain is up to it,if theres a part thats too weak,the monster clutch will find it for you
Old 04-24-2011, 06:56 PM
Launching!

x2 on the Monster clutch, that's who I plan to go with once this stocker starts to give up on me
Old 04-24-2011, 09:54 PM
On The Tree

Monster is an amazing clutch but if you have the money I would suggest a Ram Twin Disc..