Manual Transmission T56 | T5 | MN12 | Clutches | Hydraulics | Shifters

New owner questions

Search this Thread

Old 04-01-2005, 01:32 AM
TECH Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default New owner questions

Hey guys. I just got my Trans am and i have a few questions for you. 1st this 1st, I believe the 6 spd is leaking oil. I don’t think it’s the rear main, simply because i just did a oil change and the oil that’s on the ground is dark brown in color and odorless instead of a "new oil gold" color. It’s coming from the little vent in the bell housing on the bottom of the t56. I’m new to standard trannys so the following questions might seem n00bish... you have been warned..

Tranny noise. I know our 6spds are noisy, but mine is sometimes noisey out of gear. Sometimes if i press the clutch in and let it out, the noise will go away. What could that be? The throw out bearing?

When going at full throttle, i push the clutch in to shift; i shift into the next gear, and let the clutch out as always. Now occasionally the clutch pedal won’t come all the way back up. It’s only happened when under full throttle, so far. What could that be?

and how do i check the oil level in the t56?

Any links to info and any help is greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance!
Old 04-01-2005, 02:55 AM
TECH Apprentice

The T-56 doesn't have oil in it, it has Dexron III automatic transmission fluid in it. The stuff leaking out the vent on the bottom of the bellhousing is probably from the rear main oil seal if it is dark and it is oil.

The noise you are hearing is most likely the throw out bearing as you first thought.

The pedal sticking to the floor under full power shifting is probably a worn out pressure plate. At least that is what mine was. You will hear differing opinions on this. It could also be the hydraulics if you haven't done the drill mod.