Multimedia Exchange Videos | Sound Clips | Photos | Photoshop

ARTICLE: Good Picture (Equipment, Technique, Etc)

Search this Thread

Old 04-23-2007, 11:36 PM
Sold The Fun Stuff :(

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default ARTICLE: Good Picture (Equipment, Technique, Etc)

I'm far from an expert on photography, and I'm certainly not trying to act like I am, but I do believe in giving credit where credit is due. There are quite a few guys on here that post up some quality pictures and for those guys I am thankful as I really enjoy looking at nice pictures and I know alot of us here do. It offers us a way to see things in ways that we might not otherwise see them. I'm going to use some of my pictures as reference points in this article and may even type up a post with tips on how to get better pictures but for right now I just want to put this together.

What some people dont realize is that there is alot more to putting out quality images than just plunking down a ton of money on an expensive camera and pushing a shutter button. An inexpensive point-and-shoot in the hands of someone who knows what they are doing can produce a much better picture than that of someone who doesn't know what they're doing with thousands upon thousands upon thousands of photography equipment at their disposal.

Turning out good pictures is like building a house to me. You have to have the know-how (your technique), solid tools (your equipment, doesn't have to be the best but you have to know how to use it to get the results you want), you have to build a good foundation and framework (the picture), and then you have to present your vision through the house itself (post-processing).

Here are a few examples...

A picture I took over three years ago with a 4MP point-and-shoot:

A picture I took back in the fall with a 5MP point-and-shoot: