New LS1 Owners - Newbie Tech Basic Technical Questions & Advice
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Just bought a '98 M6 and I'm having trouble with the trans and clutch.

Search this Thread

Old 04-14-2012, 01:09 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Just bought a '98 M6 and I'm having trouble with the trans and clutch.

This is the first LS1 Camaro I've owned, and the only manaul 6 speed I've owned as well. I have owned street bikes and other manual transmission sports cars though, so I don't think my trouble is from inexperience.
The problem is that when I shift from 3rd to 4th, there's a grinding noise and it doesn't go into gear sometimes. The times it will go into 4th, it usually pops out of gear. Other times, it seems to shift perfectly?
The most recent problem is that when I'm shifting at "higher revs", the clutch will just stick to the floor.
I love driving cars and motorsports in general, but I'm not a mechanic. I live in the on I85 in between Greenville SC and Charlotte NC. I was wondering if anyone out there has some ideas or options for me, and could perhaps suggest an honest mechanic in the area. Thanks guys and gals!
Old 04-14-2012, 01:27 PM
Launching!

Default clutch master