Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

newb @ shifting. need help!

Search this Thread

Old 06-07-2008, 12:30 PM
TECH Apprentice

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default newb @ shifting. need help!

hey guys. just recently got done w/ my m6 swap and broke the clutch in. i can shift normaly (got 24.5 MPG sweet) no prob. but im not very good at down shifting and hammering down. couple times i did it i down shifted and it felt like the rear end was going to explode. almost like the clutch bounced off the flywheel. i cant totaly discribe how bad it felt. im realy surprised i didnt snap the input shaft of brake the bolts on the pressure plat lol. i was comming out of six at around 60 and down shifted to 3rd. i was trying to give it some gas and rev match when i dupmed the clutch. could that have been my problem. im kinda scared to get on it now and hope ya'll can give me some tips.

corey
Old 06-07-2008, 12:33 PM
TECH Resident

wht r ur gear ratios?...60mph in 3rd shouldnt have caused tht big of a problem...whn u put it into 3rd how much gas did u give it?
Old 06-07-2008, 12:38 PM
12 Second Club

Received 5 Likes on 4 Posts

just keep practicing man..practice makes perfect. its still going so dont worry about it..just find out how fast you can go in each gear before you downshift and hammer it..I would usually go to a higher gear if the car was 10mph of where red line would be in the lower gear
Old 06-07-2008, 12:51 PM
TECH Fanatic

Originally Posted by z28_YOU_HO
just keep practicing man..practice makes perfect. its still going so dont worry about it..just find out how fast you can go in each gear before you downshift and hammer it..I would usually go to a higher gear if the car was 10mph of where red line would be in the lower gear