Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Tune or mechanical problem ???

Search this Thread

Old 06-29-2010, 04:34 PM
TECH Senior Member

Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts

Default Tune or mechanical problem ???

Some back round info... My car has been tuned mostly for WOT, havent had the time to get to the part throttle and idle very much. The car has been idleing around 800-850 rpms, no problems. This weekend I took it out and after 2 hours of driving I came to a stop light, pushed the clutch in and the car died. So I get her home and it dies a few more times on the way. Now the car will barely idle, the rpms will hang around 500 and my air/fuel wide band pegs at 17-1 A/F (LEAN) then the rpms will slowly rise to 8-9 hundred rpms and the A/F goes to 14-1. I havent had time to get it on my lift and start checking things, saturday is the first I will have time. So any one have any ideas on what to start checking first. I have HP tuner but I'm NO tuning expert ( I pay some one to do that). Also my O2 sensors are the original (34K on the clock) So I was thinking that could be my problem. One more thing to add, I am on a SD tune, no more MAF. No SES light either. Coments please, Thanks in advance
Old 06-29-2010, 04:53 PM
TECH Addict

Received 26 Likes on 24 Posts

The first thing that comes to mind is when was the last time your fuel filter was replaced?
Old 06-29-2010, 05:06 PM
TECH Senior Member

Originally Posted by gofastwclass
The first thing that comes to mind is when was the last time your fuel filter was replaced?
Fuel filter was replace less than 3,000 miles ago, did it when I put the dual fuel pumps in. Also on the fuel subject, My fuel pressure gauge is a consant 60psi the gauge doesn't drop when the lean condition occurs.
Old 06-29-2010, 07:09 PM
9 Second Club

Received 1 Like on 1 Post