Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

2002 5.3 engine loss of power?

Search this Thread

Old 06-29-2017, 12:58 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2002 5.3 engine loss of power?

Thanks in advance!!! I'm new to the LS which I have a Bouncer with a 2002 5.3 LS from a Silverado 1500. Had issues with the charging system, would not charge the battery, if you charged the battery up it would run great for 20 mins start missing and die? Got a replacement alt for a 2002 chevy silverado, same thing happend, like the alt was not charging battery? I was told I needed more amps to run my rad fans, trans fan & elect fuel pump. Got another alt with higher amps 130 (carquest listed), this time it ran fine but the battery did come down some but not enough for it to miss and die like before? So I thought more amps was helping and the amps on my guage was showing it putting out 10-11.2 amps which I was told was still low? Ok so I was looking for more amps and got a new Mechman custom Alternator 250 amp GM 4 pin Self Exciting. This seems to have fixed my charging problem, the battery stayed up and the gage was now showing 14 amps under load. Here's my problem, immediately after that my engine has lost power, still runs good but didnt start as quick, didn't idle as good and idled at a little lower rpms, would not rev as fast as before and is considerably slower accelerating? Im not sure what to check now, it ran awesome before the alt change? Thanks for any help on this? Bryan
Old 06-29-2017, 01:14 PM
Launching!

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Just to make sure its not a coincidence, have you tried one of the previous alt's to see if the power returns? Do you have any codes showing?
Old 06-29-2017, 02:23 PM
Teching In