Road Racing Road Course | Autocross

Road course virgin...tips please

Search this Thread

Old 10-02-2008 | 12:03 AM
TECH Regular

Default Road course virgin...tips please

hey, this is my first time to take my ta to the monthly roadcourse event at gulf greyhound park in texas. anyway, what are some things i should know before i make a fool of myself. i hope itll be a lot of fun.
Old 10-02-2008 | 06:15 AM
TECH Fanatic

Get all the junk out of your car, change your oil(over fill it by a quart), make sure your brakes are good(top off fluid and bleed + good pads), and be sure to have a helmet and any other required safety equipement.

Slow laps are learning laps, notice and learn as much as you can and filter later

"Pushing" it is relative, your first time out I would exceed 80% of what you think the car is capable of. No offense, but that is about what you are capable of in respect to the car when you start.

Listen to the more experienced guys, if there is an instructor available, pick their brain every chance you get. Things like lines, shift points, braking points, and most of all LAND MARKS. The more visual ques you can find on course the less you have to "remember" and the more it becomes natural reaction.

The biggest thing of all, have fun. You are there to learn about and enjoy the day and your car. Don't worry or even think about being the next Mario Andretti, just be you having a safe day out on the track.

Personal rule that I encourage for every one, car on = helmet on. Paddock, pits, taxi roads, doesn't matter, put you hat on!!!

Have fun and let us know how it goes.
Old 10-02-2008 | 08:55 AM
TECH Junkie

Respect others & make sure you know & understand the signals made by drivers & corner workers. Make sure you know what each different colored flag means, as well.