Suspension & Brakes Springs | Shocks | Handling | Rotors

Front rotors that won't warp in 3 mos.?

Search this Thread

Old 08-16-2010, 07:24 PM
Launching!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Front rotors that won't warp in 3 mos.?

Has anyone ever bought front rotors for our cars that last longer than 3-6 months without warping? I'm not hard on my brakes either! Really getting pissed off!
Old 08-16-2010, 07:30 PM
Launching!

If it keeps happening, are you sure that something else is not wrong? Maybe stuck caliper pins?

I have been using auto parts store (Napa) blanks for 3 years now with no problems.
Old 08-16-2010, 07:41 PM
TECH Senior Member

Received 17 Likes on 15 Posts

anything but stock should last awhile.

theres quite a few upgrade options. check some sponsors.
Old 08-16-2010, 08:35 PM
Staging Lane

brembo blanks?
Old 08-16-2010, 10:39 PM
11 Second Club

on my Y2K SS @ 9 k miles dealer machined front roters, @ 11 k dealer replaced both, @ at 12 k dealer replaced both again, 14 k dealer replaced again, now 11 years/76 k miles still on the last OE repacement and NO problems with brakes after many high speed stops
PS: my car has NEVER had a inpack on it, I do all my off/ons myself
Johnny
Old 08-16-2010, 10:57 PM
TECH Addict

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Thumbs up

x2. Skip the pretty, drilled, slotted, dimpled, smothered and covered rotors for the street. It's an overkill. You'll never see the temperatures all that crap is supposed to help with.

Originally Posted by hsproyaya
brembo blanks?
Old 08-16-2010, 11:52 PM
TECH Senior Member

Received 215 Likes on 176 Posts

x2 on checkin the pins
Old 08-17-2010, 12:52 AM
TECH Enthusiast

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Make sure the hub mounting area is clean. Also you make sure you torque the wheels to the proper spec. We install literally 100s of rotors at the shops I've worked at with very few issues, and most are cheap Chinese rotors.
Old 08-17-2010, 02:48 AM
TECH Fanatic

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts