Suspension & Brakes Springs | Shocks | Handling | Rotors

Need DIY SFC help!

Search this Thread

Old 01-11-2011, 01:54 AM
On The Tree

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Need DIY SFC help!

I have a 2001 WS6 and have no money to buy stuff right now. The SFC's I have seen pretty cheap around $95-$100, but I just got a mig welder and I'm a welder by trade and really have been searching all over on how to fabricate my own SFC's. I would preffer round style, but box style also works. I also can get chromoly pretty cheap, but if they can be made from regular steel, then I can just powdercoat them with high temp paint so they wont rust. I thought about fabbing LCA's also but that seems more efficient to just buy with the bolts/bushings etc.....any help would be great on the SFC's
Old 01-11-2011, 04:08 AM
TECH Senior Member

Received 241 Likes on 197 Posts

cheaper to buy em with the cost of materials and fab time
Old 01-11-2011, 07:31 AM
TECH Senior Member

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

True, but there is something to be said about the satisfaction of a DIY project.
Old 01-11-2011, 09:58 PM
11 Second Club

I used this build thread to build a set for my formula. Spent 30 bucks on a 10ft stick of 2x2 .120 wall square tube and a few hours.

https://ls1tech.com/forums/drag-raci...cs-budget.html
Old 01-12-2011, 01:24 AM
On The Tree