Suspension & Brakes Springs | Shocks | Handling | Rotors

Cost to weld sub frame connectors?

Search this Thread

Old 06-14-2011, 02:33 PM
TECH Enthusiast

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Default Cost to weld sub frame connectors?

I recently purchased some sub frame connectors and have been calling around to a few shops to see what it would take to weld them in. Three of the four didn’t know what SFCs were The other quoted me $130. I thought that sounded incredibly steep for just a few quick welds - especially since this is the same shop that charged me $350 to do a complete gear swap that took an entire day. Is this what everyone else spent? I’m no expert welder, but may attempt to do it myself for that price.
Old 06-14-2011, 02:43 PM
TECH Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Local shop charged me $10 per point of weld. So $40 since subframes only have a front and rear point to weld and each side. $130 is a rip off!! The most i would realistically pay is $20 a weld. It takes only about 10 minutes each side.
Old 06-14-2011, 02:57 PM
TECH Apprentice

Guess it depends on the shop, the quality of the work, and how much prep is needed. A hack shop can do them in 20 minutes; a quality shop it will take longer.

Hell, it takes that much time to properly prep the bottom of the car and grind/clean the weld points properly.

Personally, if it's a shop that's trusted, and you know does good work, $130 isn't a bad deal if they're doing everything and do a quality job.

By doing everything I mean:
1) Grind the clean all areas to be welded.
2) Straighten and fit any areas that need minor repair.
3) Weld Subframes.
4) Primer and paint welds.

Hell, if you want to go extreme you could do what I did... I had my car put onto a rack at a collision shop and measured, then had the SFCs welded on while the car was on the rack. (This makes sure EVERYTHING is in perfect alignment).
Old 06-14-2011, 03:02 PM
TECH Apprentice