Tools & Fabrication Hand | Power | Hydraulic | Pneumatic | Welding | Painting

Bent Frame..... Repair it?

Search this Thread

Old 09-13-2011, 09:59 PM
On The Tree

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Bent Frame..... Repair it?

So I started stripping down my camaro, looking for all the rust so I could repair it. I also figured I would find some prior collision damage since the inner fenders were different colors under the primer paint. The main beam of the unibody has been bent and pulled back out just forward of the fire wall, with plenty of welds on the outer part......

I figure this just gives me an excuse to cut it all out and put a tube frame up front. I do aircraft structure repair for a living, so I'm pretty comfortable with fabrication. I just haven't done anything this involved on a car before and was hoping for afew suggestions on specific things to watch for before I get started. Here's the kit I was thinking of using, and afew quick pictures of the problem area.

http://www.cachassisworks.com/p-535-...x-2-frame.aspx

Last edited by turbinesurgeon; 09-13-2011 at 10:19 PM.
Old 09-14-2011, 01:36 PM
TECH Regular

Received 18 Likes on 15 Posts

cut it all out and go 25.2 specs tube chassis
Beaudacious
Old 09-14-2011, 05:09 PM
On The Tree

Pulled the AC box out of the way today, and got a real good picture of the wrinkle from the bend. I think a full cage would be over-kill since I want to be able to drive it as well.

Perhaps I could get a basic 4 point roll cage, and tie it to the front with an extra bar that bends down for the door then back up at the dash.

Old 09-21-2011, 04:54 PM
TECH Addict

Received 48 Likes on 32 Posts

Id get a better chassis before going through the trouble of rust/collision repair on a car so new
Old 09-25-2011, 10:21 PM
On The Tree

Originally Posted by Pocket
Id get a better chassis before going through the trouble of rust/collision repair on a car so new