Conversions & Swaps LSX Engines in Non-LSX Vehicles
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Anyone charge the vintage air system themself?

Search this Thread

Old 05-24-2013, 10:16 AM
Staging Lane

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Anyone charge the vintage air system themself?

I got my 69 ls1 running, my vintage air is all installed and just needed to be charged.
I looked in my area for someone to trust with it that can do it while I wait with no luck.
I was told evac and charging was B/S and I can do it my myself with a can and 1/2 of re charge...by a pro.
So I bought a can and oil but the instructions say the compressor does not need oil.
Can I just charge it with the cans and purge it a bit to clean it out?
Any opinions welcomed .
Old 05-24-2013, 11:18 AM
TECH Addict

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Doesnt it have instructions?
Old 05-24-2013, 11:27 AM
Teching In

To do it correctly you need to purge it, leak check it, put a vacuum on it, then charge it.

I am a universal tech, however I do not work on car A/C systems lol. And all of the compressors I work on we have to service with oil of some sort. I pretty sure those recharge cans at autozone and whatnot have the oil in them already.

I'm surprised a pro would tell you not to evacuate it. You don't want old freon, oil, debris or worse yet water in there.
Old 05-24-2013, 11:35 AM
Teching In