Notices
Dyno Guesses & Bench Racing Forum Horsepower Estimates | Racing Scenarios

Any guesses before I get it dyno-tuned.

 
Old 08-16-2018, 11:24 PM
  #1  
TECH Apprentice
Thread Starter
 
Dano 00TA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Gary, In
Posts: 319
Default Any guesses before I get it dyno-tuned.

It put down 307 with only the lid, maf ends, and cutout. Just wanted a few opinions before it goes in.
Here's what I've done.

Stock Bore/Stroke 2000 LS1 w/69k miles
Lingenfelter GT12 cam .614 .621 Duration @ 0.050": 227 235 (LSA)115
Ported 243 heads with Manley Race Flow 2.00/1.55 valves
Ported Dorman LS2 intake with a 92mm WARR throttle body
42lb GTP imjectors
TSP 1-7/8 long tubes with ORY and a Dynomax 3" catback with a race bullet muffler

This is what I started with and the almost finished pic.





3.23 gear
Whisper lid
Fast Toys Ram Air
Dano 00TA is offline  
Old 08-17-2018, 12:03 AM
  #2  
Teching In
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 0
Default

443 whp

Last edited by EfBodyJ; 08-17-2018 at 12:05 AM. Reason: autocorrected
EfBodyJ is offline  
Old 08-17-2018, 12:07 AM
  #3  
TECH Apprentice
Thread Starter
 
Dano 00TA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Gary, In
Posts: 319
Default

Originally Posted by EfBodyJ View Post
443 whp
I'll probably have a heart attack if it does that!
Dano 00TA is offline  
Old 08-17-2018, 12:12 AM
  #4  
TECH Junkie
 
98CayenneT/A's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: White Bear, Mn
Posts: 3,054
Default

Locked or unlocked converter?
98CayenneT/A is online now  
Old 08-17-2018, 01:16 AM
  #5  
TECH Apprentice
Thread Starter
 
Dano 00TA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Gary, In
Posts: 319
Default

Originally Posted by 98CayenneT/A View Post
Locked or unlocked converter?
Good question, I'm not sure how he's gonna do it when he tunes it? I'd assume it'd put down better numbers locked, correct? It's a Midwest 3200


Edit, from what I'm reading if it's locked the numbers might be a bit better but I risk damaging the converter so I'm gonna say unlocked for sure.
Dano 00TA is offline  
Old 08-17-2018, 03:49 AM
  #6  
TECH Senior Member
iTrader: (2)
 
HCI2000SS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Howell & Fenton MI
Posts: 11,158
Default

Same dyno?
HCI2000SS is offline  
Old 08-17-2018, 06:26 AM
  #7  
TECH Junkie
iTrader: (27)
 
madmike9396's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 3,013
Default

how is locking up the torque converter going to hurt it ?

I'm gonna guess 405 with a locked converter. just depends on what converter you have and what rear end and what dyno and how good the tune is.

a lot of variables play into it
madmike9396 is offline  
Old 08-17-2018, 10:58 AM
  #8  
TECH Apprentice
Thread Starter
 
Dano 00TA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Gary, In
Posts: 319
Default

Originally Posted by HCI2000SS View Post
Same dyno?
Different dyno but both are Dynojets if that matters.
Dano 00TA is offline  
Old 08-17-2018, 11:00 AM
  #9  
TECH Apprentice
Thread Starter
 
Dano 00TA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Gary, In
Posts: 319
Default

Originally Posted by madmike9396 View Post
how is locking up the torque converter going to hurt it ?

I'm gonna guess 405 with a locked converter. just depends on what converter you have and what rear end and what dyno and how good the tune is.

a lot of variables play into it
That's what I thought at first but read that the converters are only meant to be locked while cruising and under full throttle, the small clutch band isn't meant to take it.


Stock rear (for now) and it's gonna get tuned at the same time.
Dano 00TA is offline  
Old 08-17-2018, 11:59 AM
  #10  
TECH Junkie
iTrader: (27)
 
madmike9396's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 3,013
Default

I really don't see 3 pulls hurting it being locked up. if you done it alot then it may cause an issue. that's just like doing WOT pulls. horrible on the parts but damn its fun
madmike9396 is offline  
Old 08-17-2018, 12:27 PM
  #11  
TECH Apprentice
Thread Starter
 
Dano 00TA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Gary, In
Posts: 319
Default

Originally Posted by madmike9396 View Post
I really don't see 3 pulls hurting it being locked up. if you done it alot then it may cause an issue. that's just like doing WOT pulls. horrible on the parts but damn its fun
LOL I should be ok then, only had the car on a dyno one time years ago.
Dano 00TA is offline  
Old 08-17-2018, 12:28 PM
  #12  
TECH Senior Member
iTrader: (2)
 
HCI2000SS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Howell & Fenton MI
Posts: 11,158
Default

Originally Posted by Dano 00TA View Post
Different dyno but both are Dynojets if that matters.
Only reason I asked is because that would be the only way to truly see how much you gain. Honestly I've personally seen dynos vary a lot, and it doesnt always matter what type. Thats why I go off trap speed, since that doesn't lie
HCI2000SS is offline  
Old 08-17-2018, 12:33 PM
  #13  
TECH Apprentice
Thread Starter
 
Dano 00TA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Gary, In
Posts: 319
Default

Yeah, I'm only doing it since he's tuning it. Will be going back to the track and like you said, that's the only real way to know. I just hope it's worth it....I hit a lot of bumps in the road along the way of putting it together. Hopefully it's gonna pay off .....before I break the diff.
Dano 00TA is offline  
Old 08-17-2018, 12:36 PM
  #14  
TECH Junkie
 
98CayenneT/A's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: White Bear, Mn
Posts: 3,054
Default

I personally would not lock my single disk converter just for numbers.
98CayenneT/A is online now  
Old 08-17-2018, 12:41 PM
  #15  
TECH Junkie
iTrader: (27)
 
madmike9396's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 3,013
Default

Originally Posted by Dano 00TA View Post
Yeah, I'm only doing it since he's tuning it. Will be going back to the track and like you said, that's the only real way to know. I just hope it's worth it....I hit a lot of bumps in the road along the way of putting it together. Hopefully it's gonna pay off .....before I break the diff.
it should run close to what you are running on spray now imo. if the tune is good and you can hook it with the new found power

you can see my my times in my sig. I had a F14 low lift cam, hand ported 799s and a ported FAST 92MM setup. FTI 4k stall
madmike9396 is offline  
Old 08-17-2018, 12:45 PM
  #16  
TECH Apprentice
Thread Starter
 
Dano 00TA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Gary, In
Posts: 319
Default

Yeah, I think I'll tell him to leave it unlocked. I don't wanna chance messing anything up.

And I'd be very happy to run 11's on motor.
Dano 00TA is offline  
Old 08-23-2018, 09:46 PM
  #17  
TECH Senior Member
iTrader: (3)
 
99 Black Bird T/A's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 6,155
Default

Sounds like a recipe for an M6 car to make ~440 to 445 whp, so if the converter is locked on the typical DynoJet I'd guess 425 to 430 whp. Unlocked probably 405 whp.

BTW - the engine compartment looks fantastic!
99 Black Bird T/A is online now  
Old 08-24-2018, 01:32 PM
  #18  
TECH Apprentice
Thread Starter
 
Dano 00TA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Gary, In
Posts: 319
Default

Originally Posted by 99 Black Bird T/A View Post
Sounds like a recipe for an M6 car to make ~440 to 445 whp, so if the converter is locked on the typical DynoJet I'd guess 425 to 430 whp. Unlocked probably 405 whp.

BTW - the engine compartment looks fantastic!
I'd be happy as hell for anything above 400 That's the number I was shooting for.
Dano 00TA is offline  
 


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

About Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: