LT1-LT4 Modifications 1993-97 Gen II Small Block V8

LT1 edit vs CATS

Search this Thread

Old 06-19-2010, 12:46 AM
TECH Fanatic

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default LT1 edit vs CATS

Im looking for a good tuning software that is user friendly. Im ok with computers but not great so i need something that doesnt take a genus to figure out. Its not that i need to do it right now or anything or that im to cheap to pay someone to do it. Its just something that i want to learn how to do for now so i dont have to rely on someone to do it and trailoring my car to them because there is no one near me that will tune obd1. That and it is something i hope to do for a living someday. So if any of you guys can help me out it would be greatly appreciated. Its just a learning curve, and something i have always wanted to do.

and i would also like to know what all i would need(Laptop, cables, ports, ext, ext) so any recommendations would be great too.
Old 06-19-2010, 02:28 AM
TECH Senior Member

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

Of the 2, Tunercats hands down.

However, tunerpro is free AND datalogs as well

https://ls1tech.com/forums/lt1-lt4-m...ger-tuner.html
Old 06-19-2010, 03:23 AM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

i use cats and freescan to log. you can start using it for $20,the cost of the deff file and use it as much as you like for 30 days, then pay the $70 regestration fee and have unlimited use.
Old 06-19-2010, 05:34 AM
TECH Fanatic

is it user friendly because like i said im not great with computers.
Old 06-19-2010, 06:11 AM
TECH Veteran

Received 53 Likes on 47 Posts

Originally Posted by lethal bird
is it user friendly because like i said im not great with computers.
You are going to have to improve your skills. Tuning can be pretty involved if you make more than basic changes. There is a lot to know and learn. It will take some time.
Old 06-19-2010, 06:18 AM
TECH Senior Member

I agree, if you're not computer savvy, I would do plenty of reading.