LT1-LT4 Modifications 1993-97 Gen II Small Block V8

LT1 Advice please.

Search this Thread

Old 09-29-2011, 01:59 PM
Staging Lane

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default LT1 Advice please.

Good day all!!

So I'm looking at buying a 1995 trans-am lt1. The car itself is in awsome condition with a brand new paintjob and auto tranny, the deal is pretty sweet.

The issue is, the seller says the garage told him an injector is gummed or going, a 600$ repair, as a result the car misfire and stutters a lot.

My question is, since I'm really new to these cars, is that something you can just fix by replacing the injectors? Or could this by something much larger?

I would assume you could just pull out all 8 injectors in your backyard and swap in some brand new ones?

I called the local dealership but they have yet to get back to me on that or the price so I figured I would come here and ask some expert advice.

Thanks guys!!!
Old 09-29-2011, 02:04 PM
10 Second Club

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Yes you can just swap out injectors if that's the problem. You could always pick up a set of good used injectors cheap. Make sure they prove to you it's an injector first. Could be something like the Opti and that can be expensive if you have to pay someone.
Old 09-29-2011, 02:13 PM
Staging Lane

How would you tell the difference? The way it was described as it happens more at high rpms.

Sorry new to these cars been doing all the reading I can this morning, I have an options between this car, 1995 auto black with troofs and a new tranny or a 94 green with a 6 speed manual but no troofs.... I think the 94 may but the slightly safer bet but the lack of troofs is a huge down side to me and everything I read about adding them.. well it just seems like its not worth it.
Old 09-29-2011, 02:26 PM
10 Second Club

That could mean a lot of different things, anywhere form opti to fuel related to as simple as a bad plug wire.
Old 09-29-2011, 02:36 PM
Staging Lane

Hmm