Manual Transmission T56 | T5 | MN12 | Clutches | Hydraulics | Shifters

Keep Blowing Slaves WTF.....Tick Master/Mcleod RST

Search this Thread

Old 05-15-2010, 01:13 AM
TECH Enthusiast

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Question Keep Blowing Slaves WTF.....Tick Master/Mcleod RST

Hello,
I have a Tick Master, RST mcleod Dual Disk Clutch and an Oryllies Slave.
this is the second one that I have blown out and its really anoying.
the brake fluid gets all over the clutch and starts to slip.
I took it apart once today and it had some slight hot spots. We are going to take it apart again on Monday and replace it with a new Slave but I dont understand what gives.

Here is some things I was considering:
the Tick Master needs adjustment to allow for less travel in order to not force the seal.

The Mcleod RST twin is too hard for the slave to push???? can this be possible?
Im strongly considering going to an Auto if I keep having this problems.
Cant even enjoy the car at the track.
HELP!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! !!!!!!!!
Old 05-15-2010, 08:50 PM
TECH Enthusiast

any thoughts on this?
Old 05-15-2010, 09:05 PM
Banned

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

The slave could have been bad. I've seen a few scenario's where people have bought slaves that were brand new yet still wouldn't work in their car. After they took it back to exchange for a different new stock slave they got their cars to work.
Old 05-15-2010, 09:19 PM
TECH Enthusiast

you over extended the tick
Old 05-15-2010, 09:22 PM
TECH Enthusiast

Did you ever measure to see if you needed a shim for the proper clearance? you are more than likely overextending the slave. adjust your tick like they recommend so it just barely disengages the clutch and go from there.
Old 05-15-2010, 09:44 PM
Teching In

if you are using a shim make sure that the slave is sitting flush and it is not cocked. I had this problem and the slave cylinder housing was cracking causing it to leak.
Old 05-16-2010, 08:31 AM
TECH Addict