Manual Transmission T56 | T5 | MN12 | Clutches | Hydraulics | Shifters

vibration/engagement issues after clutch/flywheel replacement

Search this Thread

Old 05-13-2013, 09:02 AM
Staging Lane

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default vibration/engagement issues after clutch/flywheel replacement

Had the clutch and flywheel replaced about a month ago. when taking off in first gear the car shakes really bad until it gets going. Ive had to basically force in into reverse and now all gears are getting hard to shift into. at first i figured something was not balanced but i have no experience with this. the car has a slight shake while idleing and it does not change much when throw some rev's at it. it shakes the worst though in reverse. these symptoms were not there at all before the clutch/flywheel were replaced. anyone know what is causing these issues? suggestions welcome
Old 05-13-2013, 10:24 AM
FormerVendor

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

What clutch setup was installed in the car?
Old 05-13-2013, 11:01 AM
TECH Fanatic

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

What your describing to me sounds like clutch chatter (besides the car slightly shaking at idle). Did you break in your clutch properly? Most clutches have a 500+ break in period.

I remember I test drove a 2002 trans am back in the day and that thing would shake like crazy when I'd take off from a stop. The whole car would shake and it would go Bang bang bang bang!
Old 05-13-2013, 11:33 AM
Staging Lane

Spec stage 2 with a stock replacement flywheel. Clutch was broke in properly and its been 500+ since installed. The previous clutch was a spec stage 2 also and it never did this so that's why I wasn't sure what to think. Didnt realize clutch chatter was that bad. The whole car does shake bad and once I'm off and going it stops shaking. Is the rough shifts caused by this also?
Old 05-13-2013, 12:00 PM
TECH Fanatic

Received 1 Like on 1 Post