Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

LS1 oil consumption?

Search this Thread

Old 03-13-2004, 08:15 AM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default LS1 oil consumption?

Hi, I posted a previous question but I would like to say that I'm new to LS1 TECH. I have found many answers to some questions I've had for a while. So thanks to everyone... My question today is I have notice a little bit of oil consumption in my 02' T/A RAM AIR. The strange thing is that it only has about 8,900 miles. I drive it about three times a week for about 8-12 miles each time. I've read in the manual that it only should have 5.5 quarts so that is exactly how much I put in the engine. I don't know if it's just me that is removing the oil bit by bit by checking dip stick Is it normal for an LS1 to consume a little bit of oil? I've even checked my engine all over I don't see any oil leaks and my car doesen't smoke at all either. Any comments will be greatly appreciated.
Old 03-13-2004, 08:50 AM
LS1Tech Administrator

Received 1,489 Likes on 1,072 Posts

My '00 has used about 1/2 quart of oil every 500 to 1000 miles since day one, depending on how hard I drive it. My old '99 Z28 was the same way.

No oil fouled plugs, no oil leaks, no smoking out the exhaust, etc. Only thing is that most of it is going through the PCV system into the intake. Most LS1s do this, if you pull your air bellows off the TB and open the TB blade, run your fingers along the back side of the TB blade and see if you get an oily residue on them. Mine has that, even after doing a verticle PCV and a catch can, it still sucks some of it through into the intake. Some people throw a fuel filter inline on the PCV system to help stop this as well......
Old 03-13-2004, 09:16 AM
Teching In

Originally Posted by RPM WS6
My '00 has used about 1/2 quart of oil every 500 to 1000 miles since day one, depending on how hard I drive it. My old '99 Z28 was the same way.