Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Things to look for when buying a F-Body LS1

Search this Thread

Old 12-13-2007, 07:15 PM
Banned

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Things to look for when buying a F-Body LS1

Lookin' to pick up a Trans Am, but, I'm totally new to LS1's and RWD in general. Coming from the dark side (supercharged civic si ) and I have had a boner for trans ams since I was 15.

So, what should a newb look for when trying to pick up one? so far i've heard to look at the headlight and window motors, and the rear seal.

anything else ?? how stout is the ls1? what kinda mileage is normal, how do i look for wear and tear. just gimme what you got!!

thanks guys!!

john
Old 12-13-2007, 07:40 PM
Teching In

No offense, but supercharged civics are certainly not the darkside to an f-body

As for things to check...
-Headlight Motors
-Window Motors
-T-Top Seals
-Rear End Leaks

The LS1 is a very solid motor. Never had a single engine problem with my car and its at 85,xxx. As for mileage, depends on the tranny and your driving style. My experience with an A4, 3600 stall, 3.73's, and a leadfoot is about 15-20 mpg average. I've heard with an M6 you can do as well as 28 mpg highway.

I think you're in for a treat once you figure out what having torque is like!
Old 12-13-2007, 09:45 PM
TECH Resident

Just like any other car, you want to check the basics.

Make sure the oil looks good, look for any smoke on start-up and wide open throttle, listen for knocks, the basic stuff you would do with any other car.

CWW17 listed some great things to look for also, especially the head light motors. Listen carefully for any grinding that sounds unusual.

As far as the amount of miles...There are guys on this site that are running strong and making some major powe on 100,000+ motors. It really depends on how many miles that you are comfortable with.