Pontiac Firebird 1967-2002 Birds of a feather flock together

2000 firebird v6 to built LS motor questions

Search this Thread

Old 03-27-2013, 01:28 AM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Talking 2000 firebird v6 to built LS motor questions

First off, I would like to thank this forum for it's valuable information and it's search function, as a previous pontiac/gm enthusiast and taking my 3.8L N/A L36 into a M112 hybrid supercharged, nitrous injected FWD burnout box I have experience in rebuilding and swapping engines/transmissions. Obviously I am new to the LS1tech forums as a poster and before now i frequented mostly W-body forums...

Now, I have my next project.. I bought a 2000 firebird v6 with the Y87 package. From the research I can tell I already have the correct driveshaft and steering rack for an LS motor swap, which is only a few of the many things I will need.

My plan is to put an LS1 (346ci) in this car with the correct 4L60E, but my goal is to actually build something along the lines of a forged L92 on an engine stand and eventually put it into the firebird. (I understand the ups and downs of forged pistons, I am not totally against stock/hypereutectic pistons at this point, but I may want boost in the future, however I am only initially after 500-550whp. Cost is somewhat an issue, i'd rather spend small amounts here and there rather than buy a motor built by someone else. I have time, i have tools, I am a machinist, and I would love to build my own LS engine.

I know the v6 to v8 thing has been beat to death, but fortunately from what i have searched the 2000 year Y87 is better than most years for swapping (especially if i can find a 2000 year donor car or wiring/engine).